Talking Shop...

APMM Zoom Meet-Ups

We've been hosting informal and interactive Zoom Meet-Ups for our community to get together in virtual space - take a break from your current project and join us!  (We'll even send our members a reminder 30-min before the session starts!)

 

APMM Meet-up: Interview with Nell Corkin - Big Screen to Fine Scale
Dec 7, 2022  1:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Nell Corkin has had a fascinating career - starting in special effects and now creating fine-scale miniatures!

Nell spent her early career in the Hollywood effects scene, when practical effects and models were the only way to go. Working alongside people such as John Dykstra, Steven Spielberg, Douglas Trumbull and Ridley Scott, she’s seen (and built) a thing or two.

After a fulfilling time spent in this fast-paced and hectic environment, Nell shifted focus, moving away from California and big studio lots to a one-person shop producing fine-scale miniatures in her Midwest home. A president emeritus of the International Guild of Miniature Artisans, she’s also been honored with the title of Guild Fellow with that prestigious association of miniature craftspeople and enthusiasts.

Nell's work is featured in numerous museums in the US and Europe, and is often featured in fine-scale miniature magazines.

In our interview, Nell will reflect on her career, her time in Hollywood, making big career changes midstream, her miniature work, and many other topics. There will be time for audience questions as well.

We'll see you at our meet-up on Wednesday, December 7 at 1 PM ET at this link:

Join Zoom Meeting
https://modelmakers-org.zoom.us/j/88143823055?pwd=QTl0dHdvUXBtOWc3bnB6K3QwMjZaQT09

Meeting ID: 881 4382 3055
Passcode: 375235

 

Questions? Send us a note at [email protected] or give us a call at 315-750-0803


Here are some of our past Meet-up topics:

  • Women in Model Making
  • Benchtop waterjet cutter demo by WAZER
  • Edged tool maintenance
  • Managing small/sole proprietor model shops
  • Managing model shops in corporate/tall orgs
  • Maritime models at the Glasgow Riverside Museum in Scotland
  • Refining and achieving Social Media goals
  • 2022 Student Model Making Competition entries and winners
  • Speeding up 3D printing
  • Tool talk
  • Materials sourcing
  • 3D printers
  • Arduino in models
  • Antique tool collections
  • Film special effects
  • Diversity, equity and inclusion
  • Social media for model makers
  • Steampunk sculptures
  • Project challenges
  • Desktop metal 3D printing
  • Sourcing through catalogs and websites
  • Books on architectural models and model makers
  • Building projects at Legoland
  • Workshops and tours
  • Informal discussions and shop talk


We're developing our calendar now for the months ahead - please reach out to us with ideas, inspirations, and topics to discuss. The Meet-ups are all about YOU!

Meet-up sessions are scheduled to take place on the 2nd and 4th week of each month. at 10 AM PDT/11 AM MDT/12 PM CDT/1 PM EDT/6 PM BST and the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 1 PM PDT/2 PM MDT/3 PM CDT/4 PM EDT/9 PM BST. 
Please watch for announcements or changes here as schedules are subject to change!

 

more model maker Meet-ups

 

We're model makers. We're your community.



Got questions? Contact [email protected]